Beginners steps

deesloop
Here to help

Beginners steps

I'm new to meraki having previously used Cloudtrax for wifi management.

Meraki seems streets ahead and this is my first foray here.

I'm looking to find out the best place to start for using Meraki wifi.
I have 2 fixed sites which have been wired up, but are yet to be configured.

I hope to rule out Meraki WAPs to all our construction sits and want to get it right from day 1

Each site will have

ENGSSID  -  a hidden network for wireless equipment to stop equipment needing reconfigured when shiopped to a new side

COSIDXXX - a network for employees where XXX is a unique site reference

GUESTSIDXX - a side for personal devices, mobiles or visitors. Again XXX is a unique site reference

CLIENTSIDXX -- we often have to supply access to our employer, who may send 3/4 representative to site.

What I want to know is can I make ENGSSID a template for every site that gets setup. It's the only SSID will be common to each location. As soon as a site is added, I'd like ENGSSID to be automatically added, and if I change the template ENGSSID then that would cascade to all others?

It's a noob question but don't feel it's worth of going to support so early and would appreciate being pointed at the best resources for a beginner.

Thanks

4 REPLIES 4
AnthonyOwen
Conversationalist

Hi Deesloop,

I think the way I would do this is to create the ENG SSID and assign no tags to this (and have it broadcast from AP's at all sites), when you then create all the others that are site specific you can tag these, and assign the AP's at each site to only broadcast the relevant "tagged" SSID's.

That way when you make any changes to the ENG SSID it will cascade to all sites. 

To do this, navigate to the individual access points, and on the left panel, create a relevantly named tag e.g sitexx.

When you create your SSID's, then navigate to SSID availability and leave the ENG SSID as enabled on all AP's.