New to Meraki

360Solutions
Comes here often

New to Meraki

Hi Everyone

I am trouble shooting a network that has been configured and installed by a previous Meraki Partner. My background is Cisco Aruba and HP very new to Meraki. I have been looking at the configuration and I see the MX hardware does not support LACP or any equivalent protocol. The customer has a HA/ Warm standby configuration that seems to be creating a loop and I wanted to confirm if the supplied solution would work.

I have read over various documents and there seems to be a number of different methods regarding the heart beat for the VRRP etc requiring a dedicated cable on one document and not the other, but regardless the current setup based on the web GUI would indicate that the Warm standby is setup correctly with MX250-1 stating it is Primary Master and the spare MX250-2 saying passive ready. Based on what I have read that would indicate that element of the configuration is functioning as expected.

The customer has 8 switches 4 on the first floor and 4 on the second. The original installer has a 10gb fibre link going to each switch from the primary MX250-1 and warm spare MX250-2.

The problem is it is creating a loop even with STP enabled globally and bringing down the network. Normally if I were configuring something like this I would use a resilent core switch with LACP or BAGG.

I wanted to confirm if the MX250 supports this configuration with a link from the primary and standby or would the normal practice be to use an aggregation switch on each floor as a core switch and configure LACP links to provide a resilient solution. I do not normally use firewalls as my core switches so was not sure if this was a standard Meraki setup.

Any advice or pointers appreciated   

8 REPLIES 8
Ryan_Miles
Meraki Employee
Meraki Employee

Meraki switches? Assume all links are trunks? Does the trunk config match on each end MX and switch (the native and allowed VLANs)?