security sd - wan how to create reliable vlan? Little help needed.

clubpashax
Just browsing

security sd - wan how to create reliable vlan? Little help needed.

hi i am new to meraki i am using , security sd - wan how to create reliable vlan?

at the moment we have only 1 normal isp provider, from which i want to have 1  vlan,

current network is  with subnet ,192.168.0.1/22  and mx ip adress 192.168.0.1 could someone tell me vlan parameters for that type of networks such as ip, mask,gate,etcs based on my information and are there any specific things which needs to be done, it will be done via gui.

I dont want to make some costly mistake thats why i am posting here thanks in advance.

4 REPLIES 4
DarrenOC
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Hi @clubpashax 

Please take a read through the below documentation.  Explains the Meraki SD-WAN configurations/setups available 

https://documentation.meraki.com/Architectures_and_Best_Practices/Cisco_Meraki_Best_Practice_Design/...

Darren OConnor | doconnor@resalire.co.uk
https://www.linkedin.com/in/darrenoconnor/

I'm not an employee of Cisco/Meraki. My posts are based on Meraki best practice and what has worked for me in the field.

hi Uccert, we dont have any vpn,

we simply want to separate the traffic from 1 department,

based in our configuration,

subnet 192.168.0.0/22 , i guess thats router ip,  meraki , mx ip 192.168.0.1

the network settings i need are  subnet , mx ip, vlan id, and thats it what things i should apply after i fill these.?

ok a diagram would help explain better what you are trying to achieve.

Your ISP should not be concerned or allocating IP space on your internal network.

An ISP would usually give you a /30 or /29 on your WAN side of things. Internal side of things, IP allocation for vlan's is usually completed by your network person (possibly you) based on hosts  / devices needed. Typically you would have multiple vlan's for security reasons, aka office traffic, management traffic etc.