cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VLAN & DHCP Issues: This device is using a DHCP IP address from VLAN instead of using config VLAN

Conversationalist

VLAN & DHCP Issues: This device is using a DHCP IP address from VLAN instead of using config VLAN

We are starting to roll out a Meraki installation for our remote stores. I'm working on setting up a switch now and I keep getting this error, "This device is using a DHCP IP address from VLAN instead of using configured VLAN 1." I have DHCP options set in the MX65 the switch is connected to but still no go. Below are some of my configs if you all can help, I'm new to Meraki. 

Management VLan setup on MX65mangementVLAN.PNG

Switch ConfigswitchConfig.PNG

17 REPLIES 17
Kind of a big deal

Re: VLAN & DHCP Issues: This device is using a DHCP IP address from VLAN instead of using config

Basically it's telling you that the static IP config you gave it doesn't work, so it fell back to using a DHCP address on VLAN 1 to reach the cloud.

https://documentation.meraki.com/zGeneral_Administration/Cross-Platform_Content/Behavior_during_Conn...

So something's wrong with connectivity on your VLAN 903. Verify that the ports you have connected are configured to carry that VLAN the same way on both sides. 

Also, if you're changing the Mgmt VLAN from 1 then you should be changing that in Switch-->Configure-->Switch settings.

https://documentation.meraki.com/MS/Deployment_Guides/Advanced_MS_Setup_Guide#Management_VLAN

Kind of a big deal

Re: VLAN & DHCP Issues: This device is using a DHCP IP address from VLAN instead of using config

Check the upstream port VLAN configuration as well. 

Adam R MS | CISSP, CISM, VCP, MCITP, CCNP, ITILv3, CMNO
If this was helpful click the Kudo button below
If my reply solved your issue, please mark it as a solution.
Highlighted
Conversationalist

Which are you referring, the port on our MS210 or the MX65?

Kind of a big deal

Conversationalist