VLAN & DHCP Issues: This device is using a DHCP IP address from VLAN instead of using config VLAN

jhyoung09
Here to help

VLAN & DHCP Issues: This device is using a DHCP IP address from VLAN instead of using config VLAN

We are starting to roll out a Meraki installation for our remote stores. I'm working on setting up a switch now and I keep getting this error, "This device is using a DHCP IP address from VLAN instead of using configured VLAN 1." I have DHCP options set in the MX65 the switch is connected to but still no go. Below are some of my configs if you all can help, I'm new to Meraki. 

Management VLan setup on MX65mangementVLAN.PNG

Switch ConfigswitchConfig.PNG

33 REPLIES 33
jdsilva
Kind of a big deal

Basically it's telling you that the static IP config you gave it doesn't work, so it fell back to using a DHCP address on VLAN 1 to reach the cloud.

https://documentation.meraki.com/zGeneral_Administration/Cross-Platform_Content/Behavior_during_Conn...

So something's wrong with connectivity on your VLAN 903. Verify that the ports you have connected are configured to carry that VLAN the same way on both sides. 

Also, if you're changing the Mgmt VLAN from 1 then you should be changing that in Switch-->Configure-->Switch settings.

https://documentation.meraki.com/MS/Deployment_Guides/Advanced_MS_Setup_Guide#Management_VLAN

Adam
Kind of a big deal

Check the upstream port VLAN configuration as well. 

Adam R MS | CISSP, CISM, VCP, MCITP, CCNP, ITILv3, CMNO
If this was helpful click the Kudo button below
If my reply solved your issue, please mark it as a solution.

Which are you referring, the port on our MS210 or the MX65?

jdsilva
Kind of a big deal

I have a couple times, but i checked again. I'm allowing all traffic on my trunk up to the MX65, and on the MX65 down to the MS210 i'm allowing all traffic. 

MS210MS210_uplink.PNG

MX65MX65_uplink.PNG

I'm at a complete loss right now. 

is it solved now?

Adam
Kind of a big deal