macOS High Sierra 10.13.4 adds "Click Approve"

felixfx2
Here to help

macOS High Sierra 10.13.4 adds "Click Approve"

Recently apple sent a new update that changed something on most of my endpoints and it seems user have to "approve" profiles sent down from MDM.

My current deployment of meraki MDM is almost zero touch for my guys... and this adds more undesired human action which i am trying to avoid.

Anyone facing the same issue?

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208488

8 REPLIES 8
Dylan_YYC
Getting noticed

Yes, its a new thing Apple rolled out with 10.13 i think. Im a JAMF admin and for user enrolled machines even if they are cooperate owned this is a "feature not a bug" 

vassallon
Kind of a big deal

I ran across this the other day myself. We have a couple of headless Mac Minis that I was updating the client and profiles on and I cannot approve the profiles from Meraki on them. I was at a recent Apple Education meeting where they mentioned this new "feature." I didn't think anything of it at the time but now I will likely be opening up a case with Apple to see how best to handle this without going to each individual location where I have caching servers deployed and clicking at the machine to allow the correct profiles to be installed.

Found this helpful? Give me some Kudos! (click on the little up-arrow below)
jared_f
Kind of a big deal

We have also ran into this, a real pain. The few macs we have (marketing uses them) are enrolled with a pkg I made that installs the MDM profile, Meraki Agent, and a local management account. None of them were hitting Meraki or installing any programs - ended up being this stupid click to approve. It even does it with profiles installed by root.

Very stupid, clearly they are pushing DEP, while I am a fan of it for our mobile fleet it is a pain for computers because you have to trigger everything to install from your MDM provider.

Find this helpful? Click the kudos button. Thanks!
vassallon
Kind of a big deal