MX64 & Verizon Fios Home Network Setup?

ColtonCameron
New here

MX64 & Verizon Fios Home Network Setup?

Hi all,

I'm very new to this so please bare with me.

I received a Cisco Meraki MX64 and I'm wondering how do I install it on my Verizon Fios home network? I have the Fios Quantum Gateway Model FiOS-G1100, if that helps. 

The way that the equipment is connected right now is the ONT is connected to the Fios router's WAN port.

So do I just plug in the MX64 into one of the LAN ports? 

Any help is appreciated! 

6 REPLIES 6
cmr
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Yes and if you search these forums for fios, you will find several identical questions that may have some helpful extra information for your situation.  Remember to move your other wired devices to the LAN ports of the MX64 so they pass through it and you can see/control what they are doing.

merakichamp
Building a reputation

@ColtonCameron  

In terms of the physical connection between the MX64 and the Verizon Fios, you should connect the MX on the LAN side of your Verizon device. Ultimately, Verizon will still be your outbreak to the internet.

In terms of configuration, it will depend on your needs:

--- If you want the Verizon Fios to manage your public IP address ---

With this approach, you do not need any additional configuration in the Verizon Fios device. The MX will obtain an IP address from the DHCP server upstream and it will be able to work perfectly fine. I would recommend you set a static IP to the MX in both Verizon Fios config and the Meraki dashboard for possible future implementations you might want to do.

--- If you want the MX to manage the public IP address ---