Can I access Meraki device offline?

SOLVED
Inv-Sec
Conversationalist

Can I access Meraki device offline?

Hi,

hope you are all well 🙂

I am new to Meraki and am currently configuring a MX65W device to connect via Site to Site VPN to a Cisco ASA5545, but having just setup my Meraki device and configured within my network, I was wondering if the Dashboard be accessed offline or do i need to have internet connection to access and then carryout any configuration?

Many thanks in advance for any information.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
MRCUR
Kind of a big deal

Very simple answer: no

For any configuration beyond getting the device online, you need to use Dashboard. Meraki products are not meant to be used or configured offline. 

MRCUR | CMNO #12

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Uberseehandel
Kind of a big deal

@Inv-Secwrote:

Hi,

. . . ., I was wondering if the Dashboard be accessed offline or do i need to have internet connection to access and then carryout any configuration?

There are local pages which you can access, see the MX65's Installation Guide, which explains how to access   http://setup.meraki.com locally, without internet access. However, particularly when new to the product, you will probably find it simpler and quicker to use the Dashboard for those things that you do not have to use the local access for, but the guide has clear instructions.

Robin St.Clair | Principal, Caithness Analytics | @uberseehandel

Hi Uberseehandel,

Many thanks for your reply, but I have gone through this already and it does mention that for 'basic' configuration, when connected locally, you go to 'setup.meraki.com' to connect to device, in which it will allow you to carryout some configuration before deployment, extract below;