Internet/WAN to MX HA pair best practices

SKSVFD
Here to help

Internet/WAN to MX HA pair best practices

I'm fairly new to Meraki and my networking is a little rusty. Here's my scenario I could use some help with:

I have a Comcast fiber connection with a connection to the internet, and a connection to the WAN. I also have 2 MX 100's that are going to be configured in a HA pair. I've got the Internet connection going to port 1 on the MX, and the WAN connection going to port 3. For HA to work right I'll need the same internet connection going to port 1 on the spare MX and the WAN connection going to port 3 on the spare MX, right? 

At this point getting another Comcast router and connection is not in the budget so how do I "split" the two connections from the Comcast to get a pair to each MX? My first thought was a couple of 5 port gig switches. 1 switch for the internet connection, 1 switch for the WAN connection, but those wouldn't be manageable and if one goes down I won't have the alerting that I do with the Meraki equipment. 

I do have an 8 port Meraki switch (MS220) that I could also use, but this gives me a single point of failure and I find it silly to add one device that could fail to connect to a pair of MX's to get failover there. 

I spoke with my Comcast rep to see if they could activate 2 of the SFP ports on the Ciena to mirror the other ports and she almost seemed offended that I was asking for free service, which I wasn't. 

So, what's the best option? I'm currently leaning towards plugging in our Comcast cable connection to port 2 on both, then if the MX dies I'll just go into the server room and unplug everything in MX a and plug it into MX b...

Scott

10 REPLIES 10
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Hoe does Comcast present their connection?  PPPoE?  Static routed range?  DHCP?

I've got static connections with a block of IP addresses. 

Hi @PhilipDAth ,