Adding redundant connections - best practices

SOLVED
Raccus
Conversationalist

Adding redundant connections - best practices

Hi Everyone - I am fairly new to networking so please bear with me.  I am working on adding redundant connections to our topology at a remote site.  We are introducing two 3rd party core switches and demoting our meraki switches to distribution/access.  These switches are not stacked.   We plan to physically interconnect all switches.

Below is a small snapshot of what I am after. Red lines indicate FIBER that is ran to neighboring buildings (Switches 5 & 6).  Switches 1-4 are all located in our sever room.

After reading some documentation, I am having difficulty understanding how to best configure each MS port to support the below topology (ex: STP Guards). Any help or guidance will be appreciated.

Raccus_1-1644857791978.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

They kind of design looks great on paper but usually ends up in spanning tree hell with the occasional unplanned outage due to spanning tree issues.  If you do go down this path make sure you adjust the spanning-tree root bridge priorities and make something like switch 1 the primary and switch 2 the backup.

To get a more stable design you need to use stacking (I know you already said you aren't).  You stack switch 1 and switch 2.

I don't know if switch 3 and 4 are located next to each other, but let's pretend they are in different buildings.  You run two cables in an ether channel from switch 1 and 2 to switch 3.  Ditto for switch 1 and 2 to switch 4.  You do not connect switch 3 and 4 to each other directly.

If switches 3 and 4 are next to each other then you stack them and run a simple 2 cable Etherchannel from switch 1 and 2 to switch 3 and 4.

If switches 3 and 4 are stacked then you run dual cables from them in a channel to switch 5.  Repeat for switch 6.