Site to site VPN between two identical subnets

sparrowhawk
Here to help

Site to site VPN between two identical subnets

Is someone able to tell me how to configure an MX firewall to enable a site to site VPN between two organisations with the same IP address ranges? Support have not been able to advise on this. I suspect we need to create an internal network that is part of the existing subnet or maybe reduce the existing range? I'm not a networking engineer so my knowledge in this area is limited, Thanks.

20 REPLIES 20
Roger_Beurskens
Building a reputation

Normally (non meraki firewalls) you would use nat for that...

Hiding one of the 2 subnets behind a full nat.

But i'm not sure a mx can do that.

Hi Roger, thanks for your reply. That's what I thought too. The other site have done so on their Sophos XG box but as you say, I'm not sure how to assign a NAT rule to a VPN tunnel.

Possible workaround

Site A - 192.168.201.0/25

Site B - 192.168.201.128/25

This will split the 192.168.201.0/24 subnet into 2 halves, effectively. It can be adjusted to suit.

Robin St.Clair | Principal, Caithness Analytics | @uberseehandel

Hi Robin, that was one thing I did consider. However, after further discussion, we've decided that we can reduce our local subnet as we are using a /21 mask so have plenty of addresses spare.

Thanks

jdsilva
Kind of a big deal

If this was between two MXs in the same organization you could use Site-to-site VPN Translation

https://documentation.meraki.com/MX/Site-to-site_VPN/Using_Site-to-site_VPN_Translation

But, since you're going between Orgs this makes it Non-Meraki VPN, and as that doc says right at the top...

image.png

Unfortunately, you're out of luck here 😞

@jdsilva wrote:

If this was between two MXs in the same organization you could use Site-to-site VPN Translation

https://documentation.meraki.com/MX/Site-to-site_VPN/Using_Site-to-site_VPN_Translation