Multiple MX Hubs in single Organization - BGP peering

Ray_7
Conversationalist

Multiple MX Hubs in single Organization - BGP peering

I am relatively new to Meraki and trying to understand how this scenario might work.

Currently over 100 spokes connect to a single HA pair at the DC and BGP is used for sharing DC networks. We have been having issues with reaching the limitations on the MX appliances and are looking to distribute the load of tunnels between multiple hubs. Hub 1 - 50+ spokes, Hub 2 - 50+ spokes - preferrably both hubs configured at all 100 spokes with priority 1,2 vs 2,1 to provide a fail over similar to DC - DC fail over but with 1 DC.

Potentially we would like to have atleast 3 hubs per DC.

1. Would this result in DC routing tables all using a single Hub due to selection by router ID?

2. If only 1 hub is configured at each spoke (either Hub 1 or Hub 2) and manual intervention is used for failover, will both hubs still share all 100 spoke's routes through BGP?

3. As the answer to 1 & 2 may result in this not working, is there another approach having multiple hubs serve spokes from a single DC?

13 REPLIES 13
ww
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

1, the mx does as prepending on routes advertised from the secondary concentrator.

2, yess all mx's knows all routes through ibgp

alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Route Table Integrity