Meraki + DMVPN

shawn001
Conversationalist

Meraki + DMVPN

Existing infrastructure comprises of two Hub routers in the DC and there about 100+ spoke router spread across states. The DMVPN solution for these cisco devices work great, however we bringing in the Meraki MX64 to replace the spoke router.  Couple questions:

1. What is the best design and security practice to implement meraki into a cisco environment ?

2. Tried setting up Auto-VPN with the Cisco (Hub) router - DMVPN IKEv1&2 and no luck, has everyone done this ?

3. Is Passthrough or VPN Concentrator mode an option in this case? 

Any suggestions would be appreciated. thanks! Please feel free to share a diagram and explanation, as I am new to Meraki products.

6 REPLIES 6
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

You should install a pair of warm spare MX units in your DC configured as AutoVPN hubs.  Based on the number of spokes, I'd go for a pair of MX100's.

Then as you move sites from DMVPN to AutoVPN just update the DC routing.

Check out this guide first:

https://documentation.meraki.com/Architectures_and_Best_Practices/Cisco_Meraki_Best_Practice_Design/... 

This guide is a bit over the top for what you are doing but might be of interest.

https://documentation.meraki.com/Architectures_and_Best_Practices/Auto_VPN_Hub_Deployment_Recommenda... 

Thank you articles are really helpful. 

To your response "install a pair of warm spare MX units in your DC configured as AutoVPN hubs" of the following scenarios listed in the first document, which one is most favorable in this case?

• MX at the datacenter deployed as a one-armed concentrator
• Warm spare/High Availability at the datacenter
• OSPF route advertisement for scalable upstream connectivity to connected VPN subnets
• Datacenter redundancy
• Split tunnel VPN from the branches and remote offices
• Dual WAN uplinks at all branches and remote offices

Thanks again.

PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal