MX Sizing - Total Number of Users or Total Bandwidth Allocated?

Bjron
Comes here often

MX Sizing - Total Number of Users or Total Bandwidth Allocated?

Hi Experts,

I am new to Meraki, and confused about selection of Models of our multiple branches.

We are planning to select SEC licenses with proper firewall/security feature implementations. 

We have approx. two types branches, 

1. Type1: Users approx. 500 or Less with Internet BW between 50Mbps to ~150Mbps
  2. Type2: Users approx. 500 to 1000 with Internet BW between 100Mbps to ~250Mbps

Local partner suggest that for

1. Type1 users, Meraki MX68 or by Maximum MX75 is sufficient for handling the load of ~500 users, because allocated internet bandwidth is on lower side here w.r.t MX68/MX75. And there will be not performance impact. But the official document says, MX95 is right choice for 500 users. 
  2. Type2 user, Meraki MX95 or by maximum MX105 is sufficient for handling the load of ~1000 users, because allocated internet bandwidth is on lower side here w.r.t MX95/MX105. And there will be no performance impact. But the official document says, that MX250 should be right choice for 2000 user...

Question: 

1. For performance benchmarking, Meraki appliance take care of total number of active users? or internet bandwidth terminated on MX-Appliance?
  2. If internet bandwidths are on lower side, MX-Appliance can handle the load of higher users than its capacity mentioned in sizing guide?

Regards,

Bjron

6 REPLIES 6
DHAnderson
Head in the Cloud

I am not sure how you company capitalizes equipment, but it is probably over 5 years.  So, if you are expecting any type of growth over 5 years, it is better to start a bit larger than undersized.  Also, while today's internet speed is not reasonably priced Gigabyte in many places now, in 5 years that could be a different story.