Help creating a VLAN (more accurately, what I messed up!)

SOLVED
HeyCori
Comes here often

Help creating a VLAN (more accurately, what I messed up!)

Hello everyone!  So I am very new at creating VLANs and using the Meraki dashboard.  Originally, a separate vendor created our network.  The VLAN they set up looks like this,

MX: 10.0.255.254

Subnet: 10.0.0.0/16

I created a separate VLAN using,

MX: 10.30.0.1

Subnet: 10.30.0.0/16

However, upon making the changes, I received this message,

• The VLAN subnets 10.0.0.0/16 and 10.30.0.0/16 and client VPN subnet 172.31.0.0/24 overlap with the static LAN route subnets 10.0.0.0/8 and 172.16.0.0/12. IP traffic will be routed to the smallest subnet that contains the IP address.

I was hoping someone could explain exactly what that means.  Like, will it affect the network, or VPN, in any noticeable way?  

Additionally, does anyone have a recommendation for a better way to set up the VLAN as to not receive this message?

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Well, start in your dashboard.  Is there any other devices, or networks that you can see that have the IPs in your static routes?  Are the other network devices a different brand than Meraki?  Can you log into those devices, like the DHCP server, or any other device that is part of the network.  

If that does not work, try tracing out cables that are connected to your MX, and see where they go, you might find the static route devices if they are onsite, or a part of your local network.  

Bottom line is, you have to configure the VLAN on another device it sounds like, not sure what that device is though.  Look for the IP of the DHCP server on your network, is it another router?  There are many tools you can use to find IPs on your network, try some of those.

Go from there!

Good luck!

View solution in original post

21 REPLIES 21
PaulMcG
Getting noticed