Getting error connection reset when loading a web page after Firewall changeover

JR_216
Here to help

Getting error connection reset when loading a web page after Firewall changeover

Hello all,

I am a K12 Sysadmin who is new to the Meraki landscape. We are currently in the midst of an E-Rate changeover from our older networking equipment (Fortigate firewalls and HP Aruba Switches).

We recently pulled our Fortigate firewalls from all sites and configured an MX250 at our main MDF and MX105 at our sub sites. everything is configured and passing traffic but there is some odd behaviors happening.

Since changing the firewalls roughly every 20 minutes or so whenever a webpage is clicked it doesn't load and eventually times out with an error page saying "Error connection reset" and the reload button below that. After clicking the reload page button the page loads fine and we are on our way.

Originally this was just a minor inconvenience as I assumed this was just some initial bugs that we would out. We are a month into the install now and are adding switches currently and the issue seems the same as before.

I have went through the firewall and whitelisted as many of the main sites the district uses. I have turned off IPS/IDS, AMP is still on currently, and am currently on firmware 18.107.7.

I don't have a ton of hair left but am currently pulling it out trying to understand what is going on. I had none of these issues when I was using my Fortigate Firewalls. Please send help. My patchy skull needs it.

Edit:  I also seem to be getting this error every 2 minutes on the MX250Screenshot 2024-01-12 120441.png

18 Replies 18
alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

If you could provide the network topology it would be of great help in trying to understand your scenario.

If you think everything is ok, I recommend opening a support case.