Two issues with the Android Device Owner mode.

Shany
Getting noticed

Two issues with the Android Device Owner mode.

I've been using SM for more than 5 years and recently connected more than 200 android tablets to a new organization in Device Owner mode.
These android tablets are Samsung devices and were very easy to integrate with android zero touch enrollment.

Android tablets have long been known for their lack of features and reliability compared to iOS. However, a recent issue has made the experience very challenging.

Issue 1.
When setting "Passcode", the custom application is deleted and the Play store application is not visible.
Of course, if I remove the Passcode setting, the custom application is reinstalled and the Play store application reappears.

I have opened a case on this issue, and while the TAC seems to be aware of the issue, I have not yet received any response to resolve it.

Issue 2.
This is a recent issue (within 1 month), but when I deploy a custom application, it re-installs infinitely.
Unchecking "Keep app up to date" and "Auto-install / auto-uninstall" temporarily solves this issue, but with these settings, I need to manually deploy/update the application...

I've been changing all the settings in the dashboard to find the source of the problem, but it's not working.
My current suspicion is that there is something wrong with the SM application that was updated in November.

Are other Android SM users not experiencing these issues?

4 Replies 4
PaulF
Meraki Employee
Meraki Employee

Regarding your "custom app constantly reinstalls" issue: It's imperative that, as below, your Identifier matches exactly with the identifier of the application

Screenshot 2023-11-22 at 14.06.55.png

If this is even slightly different, SM cannot determine that the application was installed and will attempt re-installation