Hostnames Not Appearing in Network-Wide > Clients

bunge
Conversationalist

Hostnames Not Appearing in Network-Wide > Clients

Just as the title shows! Some of our VLANS and devices are not showing hostnames, only MAC addresses, for clients. 

One example of this is with a virtualized Windows server on Hyper-V. The server has a DNS hostname, NetBIOS is off, and Bonjour is not installed. However, Meraki simply shows the client's MAC in the Name field. 

I found this Reddit thread but it was not a ton of help. Please keep in mind I am not a network engineer so I may not have all the answers and knowledge that you may ask for, but I do have full access to the machines in question & read-only Dashboard access. 

Thanks!

Edit to add: This is affecting networks with MX-85s and MX-100s both, if that matters.

12 Replies 12
Ryan_Miles
Meraki Employee
Meraki Employee

The dashboard uses the process listed here to display a client's name https://documentation.meraki.com/General_Administration/Cross-Platform_Content/Rename_a_Client's_Hos...

From your description it sounds like it's working as intended.

alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

It's normal.

Cisco Meraki devices can identify the hostname of a client device using NetBIOS, Bonjour, and DHCP. In some instances, the detected hostname may be undesirable. For example, 2 devices on the same network with identical hostnames or a device that has been identified by its MAC address. The hostname can be overridden within the Meraki dashboard by configuring a manual value. 

To manually edit the hostname, perform the following configuration steps: 

In the dashboard, navigate to Network-wide > Monitor > Clients. 

Choose the client in the list you wish to modify. 

Select Edit details on the Client Details page. 

Edit the Name field with the desired hostname. 

Select the Save button.

Clients page will process client hostnames in the following order of preference:

User-specified Name

MDNS Name (Bonjour)