How to protect API keys? (Newbie)

Maggs
Here to help

How to protect API keys? (Newbie)

Hi all.  I'm a sysadmin just starting out with scripting.  I'm loving learning so far and have a pretty basic question.  If we want to have a script run in a scheduled way, what can we do to protect the API key? 

For day to day work, I understand we should pass the key as a variable and not include it in shared source code.  I also see PhilipDAth's excellent proposal to help protect keys.  https://community.meraki.com/t5/Developers-APIs/A-newer-safer-way-to-access-the-dashboard-API/m-p/69...   

For a scheduled script, It seems we need to pick a relatively secure place to put the key, lock it down as much as we can, and that's about it.  I'd appreciate advice from those with more experience.

By the way we're using Python.

Thanks!

8 REPLIES 8
sungod
Head in the Cloud

I use a Centos VM to run all the API access - actually a replicated pair, with limited login access using ssh with keys not passwords and all sitting on a segregated network accessible inbound by VPN only.

The people with direct access to the VMs (and physical UCS servers etc.) are a small subset of ones who have Dashboard admin access (mandatory 2-factor authentication).

Bear in mind, the weakest link is may be people with Dashboard admin read-write access, rather than API key storage/access per se.

For API use that's for stats/reporting only, the API key comes from a dedicated Dashboard account with admin read-only.

The API keys/other credentials are held in a central store as the application uses multiple vendor APIs, and is modular so it's easy to add extra target networks and other APIs.

Everything is run by cron. At runtime credentials are pulled from the store by a 'wrapper' that runs the python scripts and chooses the correct set for each orchestrator/target, then they are put into the environment so the script can get them with os.environ.get()