Association failures

LakesideLion
Getting noticed

Association failures

Hello Meraki Community,

Meraki newbie here.  I was looking into our wireless connection logs and noticed a lot of association errors.  One example of a reason is pasted below

auth_mode='wpa3-802.1x' 11k='1' 11v='1' reassoc='1' error_code='30' radio='1' vap='6' channel='36' rssi='30'

Would someone be willing to help me decipher this?  What is error_code 30?  Does 'reassoc=1'. mean the failure occurred during a reassociation?   what is '11k=1' and '11v=1' mean?

Thanks very much.

5 Replies 5
DarrenOC
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Hi @LakesideLion 

You can find the error=30 code here:

https://support.google.com/chrome/a/answer/7172038?hl=en#zippy=%2Cassociation-status-codes

Darren OConnor | doconnor@resalire.co.uk
https://www.linkedin.com/in/darrenoconnor/

I'm not an employee of Cisco/Meraki. My posts are based on Meraki best practice and what has worked for me in the field.
DarrenOC
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

@UKDanJones  - I’m pretty sure you can explain the 802.11v and k piece.

Darren OConnor | doconnor@resalire.co.uk
https://www.linkedin.com/in/darrenoconnor/

I'm not an employee of Cisco/Meraki. My posts are based on Meraki best practice and what has worked for me in the field.

Ah.  I didn't put that together.  

Thanks.

Try disabling 802.11r and 802.11w.

The 802.11k standard helps devices search quickly for nearby APs that are available as roaming targets by creating an optimized list of channels. When the signal strength of the current AP weakens, your device will scan for target APs from this list.

802.11r

When your device roams from one AP to another on the same network, 802.11r uses a feature called Fast Basic Service Set Transition (FT) to authenticate more quickly. FT works with both preshared key (PSK) and 802.1X authentication methods.