meraki vpn

jprovine
Here to help

meraki vpn

I am trying to configure my juniper mx5 device to allow a connection to the internet for my meraki mx64 VPN device so it can connect to the cloud service I would appreciate any suggestions since I am new to juniper and meraki vpn

17 REPLIES 17
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Log into the Meraki dashboard and in the top right hand corner go "Help/Firewall Info".  Those are the rules required that your Meraki network needs to talk to the cloud and operate correctly.

I do not have access to the dashboard I will need to contact someone who does. So is it an acceptable practice to connect the device to the juniper mx5 and then connect it to an internal network vlan? 

PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

How come you don't have access to the dashboard?  You can no nothing without dashboard access.

Is there a reason you want to use two different firewalls?

Why not just connect the MX to the Internet and make life simple?

Also your post title mentions "VPN".  How does this fit into the picture?

I do not have access because the main office is suppose to be putting it in and manage it.  I don't remember saying I have two different firewalls. Currently it is on our internal network connected to the internet but now I have to connect it to the vlan that it will be servicing and again I have never worked with meraki, it was just brought to me to replace a vpn that is currently in place and on the Juniper MX5, they just wanted to plug and play but it did not work that way, I guess I could connect it to the internal vlan its supposed to be in and be done with it. It is a meraki VPN through their cloud services. Again I don't know much about it, because I was just asked to make it fit in our network, but I don't manage it

By the way great questions, its helping me make a better decision

@jprovine  The Juniper MX5 and Meraki MX are both router/firewalls.