What benefits would I get by having a L3 switch (MS250) for this setup?

SOLVED
hinewwiner
Here to help

What benefits would I get by having a L3 switch (MS250) for this setup?

Forgive me if this question is horribly misguided. I'm primarily a developer, but my company has asked me to work on setting up a new datacenter (we never had one before and currently use consumer grade ethernet router for internet use.  We would like to start building our own data center to host Active Directory server and ERP systems. ).  (I do have at least a basic understanding of networking).

Attached is my current proposed set-up. As you can see we have many (20) remote locations who will VPN to our datacenter's MX100 over internet.  

My questions is... I currently have MS250 (L3 switch) planned in the datacenter.  I want to use VLAN to separate our server networks from other devices and setup QoS for VOIP devices but I believe VLAN is also supported on MS225 (L2 switch).  Also many of our users will be remote and VPN to MX100; I am not sure what kinds of benefit I would get from having MS250 in the data center.

What kinds of benefit would I get by using this MS250 L3 switch in my setup?

Thank you!Network.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Typically I use layer 3 switches when I want high speed routing between VLANs. For example, say you have a backup server in one vlan, and a file server in another.  With a layer 3 switch these big data flows will be moved at "wire rate",  If you routed that same traffic through and MX100 it would probably top out at 750 Mb/s - and I would have chewed out a lot of the MX's capacity that would otherwise have been available for processing user traffic.