How can I create VLANs on MS-220 switch?

SOLVED
fjulianom
Getting noticed

How can I create VLANs on MS-220 switch?

Hi community,

I am completely new in Meraki technology. I have a customer with a access switch MS-220 and a core switch MS-350. I can see in the core switch some created VLANs with their respective subnets and I think they can be created from Switch > Configure > Routing and DHCP menu. But I found no menu and no option to create VLANs on the access switch MS-220. I have seen the documentation where says how to add a VLAN to an access/trunk port, but I only want to know how to create a VLAN ID and its VLAN name, as I have done with Cisco and other vendor switches. I think is very simple but I don't find the option. Please help.

Many thanks in advance,

Julián

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
MilesMeraki
Head in the Cloud

Hey @fjulianom, The MS220 is a layer 2 switch. VLAN's cannot be created on the switch as per the MS350/other layer 3 switches as they do not perform inter-VLAN (Layer 3 capabilities).

To assign certain VLAN's to different ports on the MS220, Switch>Switch Ports>Click on the port. Change the Type to your desired (Trunk, Access) and then tag the VLAN appropriately.

If you're connecting a MS220 to a M350 and wanting all the VLAN's created on the MS350 to pass over to the MS220, just ensure that the trunk ports on both the MS220 and MS350 ends allow for these VLAN's to transverse over them.

Eliot F | Simplifying IT with Cloud Solutions
Found this helpful? Give me some Kudos! (click on the little up-arrow below)

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
MilesMeraki
Head in the Cloud

Hey @fjulianom, The MS220 is a layer 2 switch. VLAN's cannot be created on the switch as per the MS350/other layer 3 switches as they do not perform inter-VLAN (Layer 3 capabilities).