Configure sw l3

SOLVED
Thanhhai
Here to help

Configure sw l3

Currently, I receive requests from my superiors to deploy network systems for my company

this is my first time to use SWITCH MS410, please guide me step by step to configure this SW l3 to suit the requirements
Look forward to your help.4147B2EB-09B1-42A6-804D-4464275694AD.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

56 REPLIES 56
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

This is an example of configuring a layer 3 switch.

https://documentation.meraki.com/MS/Layer_3_Switching/Layer_3_Switch_Example 

@PhilipDAth Thank you very much,

but I find the document you share with me and the page I'm using are not the same.

also I want to ask you, as in the network diagram I drew, I want to use 2 Uplink lines for the L3 switch (Vlan 900, Vlan2900) Vlan 100,200,300 will transfer data with Vlan 900. Vlan 2100,2200,2300 will switch data with vlan 2900. Is it possible.

Bruce
Kind of a big deal

@Thanhhai what you are describing with VLAN 900 connecting only with VLAN 100, 200 and 300, and VLAN 2900 connecting only with VLAN 2100, 2200, 2300, sounds more like what would achieved with VRFs - this is not something that the Meraki switch supports.

You may be able to achieve something close to what you want with ACLs on the MS410 - e.g. denying VLAN 100 access to the VLANs you don't want it to communicate with (VLAN 2900, 2100... etc.) - but this will only work if you have no desire whatsoever to communicate between the VLANs,  it won't allow you to dictate the uplink between the switch and router to use, and its not going to force the routing to go through the upstream router.

What are you trying to achieve with the separation of the VLANs?

@Bruce thank you for your reply

You mean we can only deny access between VLANs, and all VLANs will be able to transmit data to both 900 and 2900 VLANs, is that correct?