Adding MS250 to Inventory

Solved
MckAdmins
Comes here often

Adding MS250 to Inventory

I am new to Meraki and taking over for someone who set this up and now is on extended leave.  When figuring out what switches/firewalls were being used at a site, I noticed that one switch, an MS250 is not listed under "Switches" even though it is in production.  It is though shown under "Clients" with all the other PC's etc.  I asked support how to get it to show up under Switches so that I can see the ports being used etc.  They provided the steps needed to "claims" the device within our organization.

I then asked if this could be done without being disruptive to the network because this set of equipment is in a data center 10 hours away.  I figured that it should not be as "claiming" it should not alter the functioning of the device.

Support would not give me a conclusive answer and suggested I do it after hours.

Can anyone confirm that "claiming" a device that is currently in use is non-disruptive?

Thanks.

1 Accepted Solution
Ryan_Miles
Meraki Employee
Meraki Employee

Odd scenario. But, assuming it's not in any network today when you claim it and add it to the network it will assume a default config of all ports being trunks with native VLAN 1. Also, when it checks in to dashboard it may need to do a firmware update. So, I would do this in a maintenance window.

I'd have to know the serial number to for sure see where it lives today logically.

View solution in original post

4 Replies 4
Ryan_Miles
Meraki Employee
Meraki Employee

Odd scenario. But, assuming it's not in any network today when you claim it and add it to the network it will assume a default config of all ports being trunks with native VLAN 1. Also, when it checks in to dashboard it may need to do a firmware update. So, I would do this in a maintenance window.

I'd have to know the serial number to for sure see where it lives today logically.