VLAN Setup

SOLVED
Shadius
Building a reputation

VLAN Setup

Hi Merakians,

Newbie here!

Not sure if I'm in the right section, if not, my apologies.

I am seeking help in setting up VLANs on my network.

I have three wireless air conditioners that I'd like to put on a VLAN. I'm not really sure where to start. I've gone into the Addressing and VLANs subsection of the Security & SD-WAN section and created a VLAN. I'm confused as to how I add those three devices to this VLAN now?

My network consists of an MX64 and an MR33.

Any help is appreciated! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
cmr
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

@ShadiusFirst create the new VLAN interface on the MX and make sure it has a DHCP server assigned to it.  To do this go to Security & SD-WAN and pick the Addressing and VLANs menu, then click on the button to change from single VLAN to VLANs, next click on add VLAN and create a second VLAN, give it a name (AC) a subnet and interface IP similar to what is shown below:

cmr_0-1596149464372.png

Next go to the DHCP config menu and make sure both VLANs are set to Run a DHCP server like the second one shown below:

cmr_1-1596149759379.png

On the Wireless / SSIDs configuration page, create a second SSID and set the security (probably WPA2-PSK for an AC unit) and in the Addressing and traffic section make sure you change it to Use VLAN tagging as below

cmr_2-1596149936798.png

It is a good idea to change the existing SSID to also use VLAN tagging but just pick the original VLAN (usually 1 unless you have changed this.  SSIDs must be in bridge mode or layer 3 roaming mode (you don't want that) to use VLAN tagging.

If you connect the AC units to the new SSID they will now be in a separate VLAN and separate associated subnet and you can create access rules to only allow certain traffic between the VLANs (subnets).

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
ww
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Make a trunk port to the MR.