Unable to establish a Site to Site VPN

SOLVED
ShadowoftheDark
Getting noticed

Unable to establish a Site to Site VPN

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Meraki but I've had tons of experience in networking and b2b VPNs and I just can't seem to figure out in MX84 if your VPN is up or down.

Currently I see this

vpn status.PNG

I was told that this green status is just an indication that the public ips can ping each other. I talked to the peer site and they said that they're seeing the phase 1 and phase 2 up but tunnel still down (?), which seems to be the case since I can't ping their device from my subnet.

Is there a way to filter out the logs that are only related to my vpn? I'm getting some phase 2 errors but I'm not sure if its related to my vpn 

vpn logs.PNG

I'm really at my wits ends in here. I would really appreciate the help.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
KRobert
Head in the Cloud

Hi @ShadowoftheDark,

This link may help regarding connecting non-meraki VPNs with Meraki's Auto-VPN.

https://www.willette.works/merging-meraki-vpns/

AutoVPN + non-Meraki VPN Integration Considerations

Only subnets local to the MX can be advertised to the remote Non-Meraki VPN peer. The subnets specifically selected as Use VPN, yes on the Security appliance > Site-to-site VPN configuration page will be included as the local interesting traffic in the IPSec exchange.
Non-Meraki VPN routes are not advertised to OSPF or BGP peers.
Non-Meraki VPN remote subnets cannot overlap with existing local, static, or AutoVPN routes. Doing so generates a Dashboard validation error when trying to save the configuration.
Non-Meraki VPN routes are not advertised to AutoVPN peers.
CMNO, CCNA R+S

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
AjitKumar
Head in the Cloud

Hi @ShadowoftheDark 

I understand we are discussing about "Non-Meraki VPN" Confguration.

Constructing tunnels with Meraki Auto VPN (between Meraki Devices) or Non-Meraki VPN (between Meraki and Non Meraki) are kind of easy.