Static Route on MX can route IPs on same VLAN but not for a different VLAN

h_p
Conversationalist

Static Route on MX can route IPs on same VLAN but not for a different VLAN

So I'm fairly new to Meraki, mostly I've been handling the MR line of devices and just recently started a deployment for an MX 250.

I've successfully created the addressing and VLANs and all of that is working just fine. The issue is when I'm trying to reach the routes that the MX is knowing through a static route through one of the interfaces, this interface (not a WAN interface) is plugged in to a Mikrotik Router and the Mikrotik has a LAN segment 10.16.2.224/28 with the GW being 10.16.2.225 all of that is configured on the interface that goes directly to one of my MX interfaces.

On the other hand, the MX has the following configuration:

VLAN 10 - 10.16.2.224/28 | MX IP: 10.16.2.226

VLAN 40 - 192.168.1.0/24 | MX IP: 192.168.1.1

Static Route for a Subnet: 10.16.0.0/24 with Gateway IP: 10.16.2.225 (Mikrotik's interface IP)

The 10.16.0.0/24 subnet is because it reaches a Virtual PBX through the 10.16.0.26.

I can successfully reach the 10.16.0.26 when trying to ping with a VLAN 10 source, but when I try to use VLAN 40 as a source I'm unable to reach those routes.

We need the phones that will be registering to the PBX to have an IP from the 192.168.1.x subnet.

The PBX has the 192.168.1.0/24 subnet allowed, and the PBX provider has turned off all firewall settings so we could do some testing but still no luck.

Worth mentioning that the customer was previously using a Fortigate device and they had this configuration and it was working just fine for them.

I'll appreciate any input from the community.

Thanks.

7 REPLIES 7
MyHomeNWLab
A model citizen

Is routing to 192.168.1.0/24 configured in Mikrotik?
I was curious if there is a return path for communication.

h_p
Conversationalist