Seeking Assistnace for Firewall/Port Access Across VLAN

SOLVED
jj_inno
Here to help

Seeking Assistnace for Firewall/Port Access Across VLAN

[ Greetings! ]

I am new to working within the Cisco environment, and though I like to believe I understand the theory of firewalls and ports, I am having trouble putting theory into practice.

At the moment I am attempting to get a UniFi set-up on one VLAN to communicate with a UniFi controller on another VLAN.

[ Situation ]

+ Items of Interest +

* Meraki MX84

* UniFi set-up (AGP, Gateway, etc)

* UniFi controller

+ Environment +

* UniFi set-up behind Meraki MX84 as VLAN 5

* UniFi controller behind Meraki MX84 as VLAN 1 (the "general" default VLAN)

* UniFi set-up and UniFi controller do not share the same port

+ Notes +

* VLAN 5 can ping and connect with devices on other VLAN networks

* VLAN's other than 5 cannot ping into anything within the VLAN 5 network

[ Goal ]

If I am correct, I need to open the appropriate ports to allow the UniFi set-up on VLAN 5 to communicate with the UniFi controller on VLAN 1.

My troubles are, I don't understand how ports work within the Meraki system. It isn't intuitive and some of it doesn't make sense (such as how all incoming traffic, by default, is blocked, yet all traffic flows into the VLANs?).

I'm guessing what I need to do, is create a Group Policy for VLAN 5 with Firewall Outbound rules that allow those specific ports to communicate from VLAN5 to VLAN1, and then create a policy for VLAN 1 to allow those ports to communicate back to VLAN 5.

OR

Add Port Forwarding rules within 1:1 NAT.

Any assistance here would be lovely. Please assume me dumb, as if examples and references need to be made.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

The issue was that the Deny rule was listed first, and every rule after that was bound to the first rule, so nothing could communicate, because the first rule said to Deny All.