Preferred Syslog Server

SOLVED
Hubble
Getting noticed

Preferred Syslog Server

Hello Experts,

Looking to add a syslog server to MX100, any suggestions?I'm new to building a syslog server. Thanks.

Hubble

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
KRobert
Head in the Cloud

I had to discover a better real-time syslog monitor once we transitioned to Meraki MXs for our Firewalls. I found Syslog Watcher as an option. You can get a 30-day free trial and if needed, support can extend it...and extend it...and extend....I digress.

We ended up purchasing it because it is a pretty powerful real time monitoring tool and it only cost $250 for a year or $450 for 3 years.

It has helped tremendously with real-time traffic viewing from the firewall. If anyone questions whether or not data is getting to, through, or blocked by the firewall, this software can let you know and answer right away. Filtering is pretty simple and you can store logs to go back and query previous logs.

We use Solarwinds Orion for an SNMP server, but for syslog it was missing a lot of the features that Syslog watcher made up in .
CMNO, CCNA R+S

View solution in original post

18 REPLIES 18
NolanHerring
Kind of a big deal

Does it have to be free?
Do you have a budget?
Nolan Herring | nolanwifi.com
TwitterLinkedIn

Free trial first will be ideal
BrandonS
Kind of a big deal

I use https://papertrailapp.com/. It has a free tier and kind of goes with the cloud concept of Meraki well.

- Ex community all-star (⌐⊙_⊙)

@BrandonS I see that PaperTrail has pricing based on storage capacity rather than number of endpoints. Are you able to provide an estimate of storage required per switch. I'm looking at deploying around 70 switches. Thanks.

BrandonS
Kind of a big deal