Only one VPN client per public IP

Solved
Abe13
Conversationalist

Only one VPN client per public IP

Hi, 

I'm fairly new to Meraki, I inherited a preconfigured network and there's little to no documentation about what was done.

Long story short, now that everyone is working from home, I noticed that only one vpn client is allowed per public IP, meaning that employees who share an internet connection, can't use the VPN at the same time. After the first client connects, the second one will get error 809 and the troubleshooting steps don't fix the issue, only disconnecting the first machine will allow the second to connect.

I've been searching through the configuration and documentation but haven't found a restriction of this kind.

Has anyone else had the same issue?

1 Accepted Solution

They're using the native vpn client, we couldn't get other clients to work with Meraki.

Btw, I found the solution, I checked the firmware as suggested yesterday and it was already running the Beta version but it wouldn't allow me to roll back to the latest stable version (something about the Beta being installed for too long).

I noticed that scheduling a firmware downgrade was allowed, so I gave it a shot, firmware downgraded successfully and now the VPN is working almost as expected. 

I'm still having issues with AD authentication but at least Meraki's built in authentication method works.

View solution in original post

9 Replies 9
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Try adding the AssumeUDPEncapsulationContextOnSendRule registry key.

https://documentation.meraki.com/MX/Client_VPN/Troubleshooting_Client_VPN#Windows_Error_809 

Abe13
Conversationalist

Already tried the registry key but that didn't work, btw, this happens to everyone, even I did a test at home and got the same result, computer 1 connects, computer 2 doesn't