Microsoft Teams - L7 country blocking acted up a bit weird today (did it do so for anyone else) ?

Solved
thomasthomsen
Head in the Cloud

Microsoft Teams - L7 country blocking acted up a bit weird today (did it do so for anyone else) ?

We had a fun problem today.

This morning Microsoft teams acted up very strange, seemed online, but we could not send messages, or call anyone.

No update of the MXs in the environment had been done, and they are running different releases.

Pinging teams.microsoft.com you got no reply, and a packet-capture on the LAN side of the firewall said that all SYN's toward that resolved IP (52.123.128.14) was only replied with RST.

Capturing packets on the WAN side towards 52.123.128.14, nothing, so it was pretty clear that the MX was the one "eating" these packets.

To begin with I suspected content filtering, because the site we started to troubleshoot was running an old MX software 18.1xx.x, and I have some experience here where content filtering was doing "something wrong(tm)".

But we then had reports of other sites, where luckily they where running a 18.2xx.x, and here the firewall log feature told us that traffic was being blocked by L7 rules.

The only L7 rules the customer uses are country filtering, but the same list on all sites. Removing the list, problem solved.

We are now trying to figure out what this IP has now been "assigned to". It should be US, that is not blocked in the list, but clearly something has happened.

I dont even know who maintains the country list on MX ... Talos ?

/Thomas

1 Accepted Solution
Malwina
Meraki Employee
Meraki Employee

Hi All! Maxmind has released a new list with an update for the two Microsoft ranges.

MXs should now have the new list with the corrections. 

View solution in original post

12 Replies 12
thomasthomsen
Head in the Cloud

The country that it was block on was : "Qatar"

NordOps
Getting noticed

Thanks!

MannyElPollo
New here

Hey Thomas,