Meraki MX64 - Static Routing

SOLVED
sbru
Here to help

Meraki MX64 - Static Routing

Hi

I am new to Meraki equipment and this forum, I am also not exactly an experienced network administrator but I have worked on routers and switches before, we replaced a Mikrotik Cloud Core router with this new MX64 for VPN reasons

So the issue we are having is to add a new subnet to the MX64, our main DHCP subnet is 192168.2.0/24 and we have devices with static 192.168.5.xxx IPS as well, before on the Mikrotik it was simple to just add another subnet to a port or ports and all was good, no VLAN, etc was needed 

How do I do this on the MX64 ?

Thanks a bunch in advance for any help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Greenberet
Head in the Cloud

Hello,

you have to create a vlan for that.

After the VLAN creation you can assign one or more ports to that vlan.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Greenberet
Head in the Cloud

Hello,

you have to create a vlan for that.

After the VLAN creation you can assign one or more ports to that vlan.

Thanks for the reply

I should have mentioned that DHCP for 2.xxx is handled by our server and on the MX64 there is no DHCP at all

So I activated VLAN and added the new VLAN ID 10 as subnet 192.168.5.0/24 and MX IP as 192.168.5.1, I made sure both my default VLAN 1 and the new ID 10 are both allowed on all ports, I have no luck to ping a 5.xxx client from a 2.xxx client, what am I missing ?

By the way I have no static route added anymore, do I still need to add one ?

sbru_0-1593191924953.png

ww
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Where  are the clients  connected and what vlan is on the access port and on the trunk port connected to the mx? 

What ip and gateway  has client 1 and ips1 ?

sbru
Here to help

Please excuse my ignorance, but I am willing to learn