MX67 Client VPN Issue Using Dynamic DNS

SOLVED
AaronLMathis
Comes here often

MX67 Client VPN Issue Using Dynamic DNS

Hello all,

I am relatively new to working with Meraki, but I have successfully setup Client VPN on a Meraki MX 67 before.

I have installed an MX67 at a customer site, enabled Client VPN using these settings:

- Google Public DNS

- No WINS serer

- Authentication: Meraki Cloud

I have added myself as a user that is authorized for client VPN through the Meraki dashboard.

The customer has service from two ISP's, and the firewall has been configured to use port 2 as a failover (WAN 2).

Both WAN connections have a dynamic IP address.

Neither ISP modem has been set to bridge mode, but it was my understanding that this was not necessary (and I have not done it in the past when successfully setting up client VPN on a Meraki MX 67.

I have disabled all firewall on the ISP device as well.

The public IP and the WAN 1 interface IP are the same, so I do not believe NAT is in play here.

I set up the VPN connection on my Lenovo Thinkpad running Windows 10 Pro using the guide Meraki provides (Client_VPN_OS_Configuration). Initially, I used the IP address of the active WAN connection. I have also attempted it with the hostname provided by the Meraki dashboard for dynamic DNS.

When connecting, I get the error: "The L2TP connection attempt failed because the security layer encountered a processing error"

I have encountered this issue in the past and solved them by checking the event log and using google.

However, I am not getting *anything* in the event log on the firewall. It is as if I am not even trying to connect. 

Because of this, nothing I have found on the forums is relevant (such as resolving Windows Error 789).

Am I doing something obviously wrong? What steps can I take to troubleshoot this?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Nash
Kind of a big deal