MX65 with Bell Home Hub 3000 (HH3000) PPPoE Passthrough - How To

SOLVED
johnlcharette
Here to help

MX65 with Bell Home Hub 3000 (HH3000) PPPoE Passthrough - How To

Hey everyone, I'm new here.  I'm just getting into the Meraki world with an MS220, MR33 & MX65 for our home office.  I'm in Canada using Bell as my ISP with 500mb service.  I connected my HH3000 (with DCHP enabled) to the MX65 WAN1 port and it just started working.  No configuration needed.  I realized I was double NAT'd though, so started to look at how I could disable the firewall or put the device into bridging mode.

Bridging mode isn't available, so I looked at port forwarding all ports, but quickly found out that I can do PPPoE passthrough - which I'm told bypasses all firewalls.  After much research, I was told that I could connect via PPPoE using my Bell b1 username/password using VLAN 35.  THIS DOES NOT WORK.  Settings below:

MX65 PPPoE VLAN35.JPG

Funny though, NOT putting the VLAN tagging worked!

MX65 PPPoE.JPG

At this is stage, I realized that the HH3000 Bell modem still has it's own PPPoE connection.  I read that you could have 2 active PPPoE connections at the same time, but still don't understand how that impacts performance.

Currently, when connected directly to the HH3000, the local Bell router speed test shows 550mb speeds but my Speedtest.org clocks in at 250mb.  When connected to the MX65, I get the same Speedtest.org speeds of 250mb (which makes me think it's Speedtest.org).  If I disconnect the HH3000's PPPoE connection, it doesn't affects speeds at all.

I'm still curious why I'm getting 550mb speeds directly from the HH3000 Bell modem, but half of that with Speedtest.org.  So, I've ordered a Gigabit Ethernet Media Converter with open SFP slot https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B06XPY2Z2R.