MX64 & Verizon Fios Home Network Setup

SOLVED
Shadius
Building a reputation

MX64 & Verizon Fios Home Network Setup

Hi all,

I'm very new to this so please bare with me.

I received a Cisco Meraki MX64 and I'm wondering how do I install it on my Verizon Fios home network? I have the Fios Quantum Gateway Model FiOS-G1100, if that helps. 

The way that the equipment is connected right now is the ONT is connected to the Fios router's WAN port.

So do I just plug in the MX64 into one of the LAN ports? 

Any help is appreciated! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
MerakiDave
Meraki Employee
Meraki Employee

Hello @Shadius you would connect the WAN/Internet interface of your MX64 to your ISP.  The MX64 will connect to the Meraki cloud for its firmware and configuration only via the WAN/Internet port.  The LAN side of the MX64 is what connects towards your home network, the WAN side of the MX64 points towards your Internet access.  So it sounds like you'll connect the Internet port of the MX64 to a LAN port on your FiOS device and the WAN port of the FiOS device to your ONT which sounds like you said is already connected.  I'm assuming you already have a Meraki Dashboard account created and have claimed the MX64 so you can confirm it comes online in the Meraki Dashboard and configure it?  Let us know if you need more info.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
MerakiDave
Meraki Employee
Meraki Employee