MX105 Setting Up VLANs

SOLVED
akehn
Here to help

MX105 Setting Up VLANs

Hello,

I am new to Meraki and VLANs. I just setup the following devices below. I have the MX105 LAN 5 port going to my MS250-48FP and then the MS250 to the MS125, and then from that MS125 to the other MS125. So there all connected.

Security & SD-WAN (Dashboard)

Addressing & VLANs  > Routing > and then made the 4 VLANs that I need.

Switch (Dashboard)

Switches > all 3 switches I picked a port edited the Native VLAN and Allowed VLANs to just the one I wanted, saved it and it worked. I could not access the other VLANs which is good.

Did I do that correctly? That seemed way to easy...

Lets say I want a computer to access a device on another VLAN. How do I do that? I tried the obvious and add both VLANs on the (Port --> Allowed VLANs) but that didn't work. Neither still see each other.

Device List

MX105

MS250-48FP

MS125-24P

MS125-24P

Thanks again.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
DHAnderson
Head in the Cloud

@akehn 

No, you do not have to plug all switches into the MX.

Each switch should have an up-link defined.  I typically use port last port on a switch (24  on a 24 port switch, or 28 if using SPF) as the up-link from the previous device in the chain.  I use port 23 (or 27 if using SPF) for the up-link to the next device in the chain.  On each of those ports, I set them to Trunk Ports and set the Allowed VLANs to what I need.  Keep in mind that each port connected to another port via a patch cable need to have the same VLANs definition.

Dave Anderson

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Bruce
Kind of a big deal