MX to AWS non-meraki peer VPN only routing one vlan at a time

Solved
JonHazlewood
Conversationalist

MX to AWS non-meraki peer VPN only routing one vlan at a time

Good day everyone, this is my first time posting in the forums so I apologize if I miss any details. 

I have a client office running HA MX250 to an AWS TGW. 

Meraki side has 2 VLANs included in the VPN and 3 private subnets (each a VPC in AWS)

JonHazlewood_0-1660052712557.png

The AWS TGW route table has the following static routes. There is a 3rd VPN route included because I has removed one from the MX but have not update AWS TGW route table

JonHazlewood_1-1660055230994.png

The issue I am having is that from the MX side, only one of the two include VLANs can actually send traffic to the VPC resources. If I run a ping from the meraki dashboard using the L3 interfaces to ping a gateway of a subnet in AWS, only one succeeds at a time. 

JonHazlewood_2-1660055455162.png

In the AWS site to site VPN config document that is downloaded from the VPN configuration page:

! AWS hosted VPN solution is a route-based solution, since Cisco Meraki only supports policy-based solution you will need to limit to a single SA. So please make sure to
! select "yes" for just one subnet, if you have more than one subnet, consolidate them into a single subnet before proceeding with the VPN configuration.

If I am understanding this correctly, I am not able to have more than 1 subnet included in the non-meraki peer VPN due to this SA limitation. I have been trying to google how the Security Associations are established and it seems like the limitation is from the phase 2 IKE negotiations, since Phase 1 happens between the public addresses. 

Any confirmation or correction on my above understanding is greatly appreciated!

1 Accepted Solution
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

That restriction is as expected.  I would consider getting a VMX-S.