Link net between MX and another firewall

Lars_Petterson
Here to help

Link net between MX and another firewall

Hi,

If I connect one MX on one of the lan ports with another firewall for the purpose of connecting the subnets behind the firewalls how do I configure the lan port on the MX? I see that I have subnets and also per-port vlan settings, so do I have to create first a vlan for the link-net, and then choose lan port type access and native vlan with the vlan I created for the link-net.

14 Replies 14
ww
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Yes

And then you create the static routes

Yes, and also the policies. Thank you ww 🙂

Hi ww,

I wrote that I should also create policies, but if we have the outbound rule with allow any any then we probably dont need to create a specific policy for this? Or should we? Sorry I am new to meraki and thats why I wonder.

ww
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Yes, Meraki allows anything by default. 

If you dont want that you can add a deny any any before the allow any.

Hi again,

What about inbound rules, do we need to create these as well, or will the trafic flow somehow inside taking into account that it is coming from the lan port?

The MX is a ‘stateful’ firewall, so any flows that originate from the inside (LAN) will have their return traffic allowed through the firewall automatically.

Hi Bruce,

What happens with the traffic that the other side initiate first? Will that traffic be allowed to pass through the MX taking into account that it is coming through the MX’s LAN port?

No, if traffic is initiated on the outside (WAN) then you need rules to allow that (inbound) traffic. Generally it means you’ll have a server inside your network listening on a specific port - you’ll then use a port forward on the MX and specify the inbound traffic that is allowed.