L3 Rule for RDP Gateway

Solved
BradHarrison
Conversationalist

L3 Rule for RDP Gateway

Hi, I am having trouble setting up a rule and wanted to see if I could get some help from the community. I setup an RDP Gateway and I want to restrict all traffic over port 3389 so that it has to come from the RDP Gateway. I've set the rule up a few different ways, but none of them look correct. Can anyone help me with what should be the Source and Destination? I've added a screenshot below of how I think the rule should be setup. Im kind of new to Meraki so any help would be greatly appreciated. 

BradHarrison_1-1700684292834.png

1 Accepted Solution
BradHarrison
Conversationalist

I understand that you are looking to configure a firewall rule to restrict traffic passing through port 3389 to a specific device. In this case, you would need to configure 2 firewall rules; 1 to allow the specific client via IP address (assuming the client has a static IP configured) to port 3389 using TCP and another to deny all traffic to port 3389.
Firewall rules are processed in a top-down manner, which means you would need to order the rules to allow the traffic from the specific IP to port 3389 first, followed by a deny all traffic to port 3389.

View solution in original post

8 Replies 8
alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Let me get this straight, you can only access other machines via RDP through your RDP gateway, would that be it?

If yes, the source will be your RDP gateway, set the source port to any and the destination will be the IP of the machines that must access and the destination port will be 3389.

This is the logic of any firewall, regardless of vendor.

I am not a Cisco Meraki employee. My suggestions are based on documentation of Meraki best practices and day-to-day experience.

Please, if this post was useful, leave your kudos and mark it as solved.