Create a DMZ on Cisco Meraki MX65 - Telephony Server

BenoitB
Comes here often

Create a DMZ on Cisco Meraki MX65 - Telephony Server

Hello,

I'm new to the management of Meraki MX.
We have a Cisco Meraki MX65.
At the time, we configured a permanent VPN connection with our cloud provider.
Then, we acquired a new Cisco Meraki MX65 to install it at our CEO.
And today we're trying to put our telephony server in a DMZ.
I don't know how we can do it. How to create a DMZ with our server which is in our network.
Any help would be really appreciated.

Thank you very much in advance,

Benoît

10 Replies 10
BrandonS
Kind of a big deal

Meraki actually has a nice doc that covers this exact scenario that should help.  

https://documentation.meraki.com/MX/Firewall_and_Traffic_Shaping/Creating_a_DMZ_with_the_MX_Security...

- Ex community all-star (⌐⊙_⊙)
kYutobi
Kind of a big deal

Creating a DMZ with the MX Security Appliance

TABLE OF CONTENTS

1. Segment the network into VLANs
  2. Restrict inter-VLAN traffic using ACLs
  3. Forward desired traffic using NAT rules

The MX Security Appliance can be used to create a DMZ zone using VLANs, Firewall rules, and 1:1 NAT mappings. To do this, three things need to be accomplished:

1. Segment the network using VLANs.
  2. Restrict inter-VLAN traffic using ACLs.
  3. Forward desired traffic using NAT rules.

In this example, the network will be divided into two zones.

• Internal - Contains clients and other devices not directly reachable from the Internet, but able to initiate outbound communication.
  • DMZ - Contains public facing servers and services.