BGP for AutoVPN

FOMOLee
Just browsing

BGP for AutoVPN

Hi everyone,

I am new to AutoVPN.

In a Hub-and-spoke topology (where my DataCentre MX is Concentrator mode, whereas all my branch office is Spoke mode, I understand that all my branch MX will have form an iBGP neighbour to the Concentrator.

Now, what happens if it is fully meshed (i.e. in a MPLS environment where all branch sites can interconnect directly from carrier's MPLS), if i set all branch MXs and DataCentre MX as Hub, does it means that each branch office MX will form a iBGP neighbour with all other MXs (unlike the hub-and-spoke topology where each branch MX will only form one iBGP neighbour with the DataCentre MX).

Would be great if someone can confirm my understanding, and greatly appreciated your help.

Kind Regards,

Hunt

7 REPLIES 7
Inderdeep
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

@FOMOLee : Check the different scenarios below

https://documentation.meraki.com/MX/Networks_and_Routing/BGP 

Regards/Inder
Cisco IT Blogs awarded in 2020 & 2021
www.thenetworkdna.com
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

BGP is not run over AutoVPN.  The cloud constructs the AutoVPN routing table from its knowledge of all sites.

You can run BGP between the MX at your DC and something else (such as a L3 switch) but that is the only place BGP is running.

The "cloud" has kinda made BGP obsolete for the inside of networks.  It is only needed for edge connectivity now with another system.

Bruce
Kind of a big deal

I wouldn’t be worrying about iBGP running over the AutoVPN or not, the Meraki Cloud takes care of handling all the routing whether it’s BGP based, or traditional. More likely the issue you’ll hit by turning all your spokes into hubs is the number of VPN tunnels you create. The number will potentially exceed what the devices that were originally spokes are capable of, you need to think it through very carefully.