Meraki Go GX20 “Reboot hardware” does not work

VeryFatBoy
Here to help

Meraki Go GX20 “Reboot hardware” does not work

Hi everyone.

I have been using a Meraki Go GX20 for a couple of months now and it seems to be working well.

However, the "Reboot hardware" just does not work from the app. I have tried many things: reset hardware, uninstall/reinstall app, tried using app from different device, so on. Nothing fixes the problem. All I see is a kind of rotating beach ball and it never changes from that.

picture.jpeg

I have already been in contact with Meraki Support and they have run out of ideas.

Wifi on my home network is provided by a Ubiquiti AmpliFi in bridge mode. The GX20 provides the security to the internet. Other than the problem above, everything works great.

Has anyone had a similar problem? If so, how did you fix it please?

TIA. 

15 REPLIES 15
hidden0
Meraki Alumni (Retired)
Meraki Alumni (Retired)

Greetings!

That is certainly an interesting dilemma. Testing this out personally, I see the GX20 lights go out moments after issuing the command to reboot. I even tested with a VPN to simulate my connection from multiple regions throughout the world, to be sure.

The reboot command is effectively web traffic that is secured. Are you behind a splash page on your network, or somehow have network traffic restricted when using the Meraki Go app?

The rotating beach ball is the request sent to reboot waiting for the confirmation that the command was received. It seems like the command isn't reaching us.

Thank you for the reply.

No, there is no splash page on the network and no network restrictions. The other two options: Test Connection and Blink LED work just fine.

I even swapped out the AmpliFi for an old Apple Airport Extreme (also in bridge mode). Exactly the same result as before. I just wonder if bridge mode would be the cause of the problem.

Roska
A model citizen