Questions about Meraki for school system

JMY34
Getting noticed

Questions about Meraki for school system

Hi everybody. I recently started working at a small local school system in the IT department. My background is in hardware and software deployment and troubleshooting, but I'm really looking to expand into Networking in a big way. Our system is comprised of 5 school campuses in a small area, with one being the furthest away in a nearby rural township. I've been poring over the Meraki dashboard for the last few days and watching some overview/deep dive videos on Meraki. I am gaining some knowledge through that, but I'd really like to ask some specific questions to get guidance on.

Here are some observations so far, and I'd love to hear people's thoughts on these.

1) It looks like our Middle School facility is on VLAN 1. I have been doing some research where people are saying not to use VLAN 1. Another management VLAN can be designated, but I didn't know if it was as simple as that with no 'side effects'.

2) Should all Wi-Fi devices be on their own VLAN for optimizing traffic? It was a suggestion I read elsewhere, I just want to sound it out and reason on it.

3) Would tagging or subnets be useful for a small school system? I am seeing that not much is tagged, and I think there are very few subnets here as well. Is a subnet indicated by an IP address ending with a /28 or a similar value?

Thank you very much for your guidance and help.

5 Replies 5
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

(1) What a discussion topic!  Being in a school environment, I would plan/expect students to be trying to do things on purpose.  Things to cause trouble.  As such, I would keep student traffic separate from everything else.  I would try and keep them away from the management interface for everything.
In the past there were also concerns about VLAN hopping attacks, but I feel the attack vector for this is less prevalent these days.