Meraki Limitations when compared to competition?

Solved
drumphile
Conversationalist

Meraki Limitations when compared to competition?

Hi Folks,

I'm a long time network engineer, and this is my first post here.  I've worked with Cisco enterprise products most of my career, but have also worked extensively with Fortinet, Palo Alto, Aruba/HP, and Checkpoint devices.  A former colleague of mine recently took a job at a company and is working on a project where he is trying to use another brand via its cloud-management platform to develop a templated, zero-touch provisioning solution which is highly repeatable.  He is really struggling as it seems that the competitive product is very flakey and is very easy to break if certain configuration options/steps aren't followed precisely.   I personally think that his company would be better served using Meraki products, but I'm fairly new to the product and how much it has evolved since Cisco purchased them 10 years ago.  I have had excellent success supporting Meraki for a couple of my clients, but I haven't designed any new solutions with them so I'm not entirely up to date with about what Meraki's limitations are and why someone might choose another solution over Meraki, except for maybe complex large-enterprise environments which require a high amount of customization.   

Interested to hear what any of you has to say about Meraki's limitations/problem areas in 2022....

So, would anyone here care to let me know - what would cause someone to maybe not consider Meraki?  Please be honest. Thanks!

1 Accepted Solution
GIdenJoe
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Hey,

If you are used to working with Cisco gear you should know that in Meraki you don't have a real peek inside the inner workings of the gear itself.  There are no debug modes, so you can only rely on general logging, your own knowledge and packet captures.