iOS: Push a client-identity certificate for use by third-party app?

rbelton
New here

iOS: Push a client-identity certificate for use by third-party app?

I'm an iOS developer who's very new to Meraki. I have a few basic questions that I'm having trouble answering:

1. Is it possible to have Meraki install a client-identity certificate onto a managed iOS device, in a way that it will be available in Keychain to my third-party app (and would that app have to be managed/pushed by MDM)?
  2. If so, how would I configure that in Meraki?
  3. Is there something I need to configure in my app to give it access to the certificate? The Keychain Sharing entitlement, possibly? If so, where is that documented and what identifier should be specified?

What I've found/done so far:

I've created a certificate, tried to install it via MDM and retrieve it at runtime in my app. So far I haven't succeeded and I don't know where the failure is. I suspect one of two configuration issues:

• The certificate isn't actually installed on the device
  • The certificate is installed, but my app doesn't have access to it in the Keychain (shouldn't I still see it somewhere in Settings, though--alongside or near the "main" certificate associated with the profile?)

Per Apple (emphasis mine):

"...identities can be pushed from a Mobile Device Management (MDM) server. However, identities installed in any of these ways are added to the Apple keychain access group.

Apps can only access keychain items in their own keychain access groups. This means that items in the Apple access group are only available to Apple-provided apps such as Safari or Mail."

That reads like a definitive "not possible" to me. However, in the place in System Manager where I think I'm supposed to associate a certificate with a profile (Systems Manager -> Settings -> Add settings -> New Credential), I see this:

System Manager