Problem with Postman and Meraki API

AlexG7
Here to help

Problem with Postman and Meraki API

Hi team,

I'm a bit new with API,

followed tutorials and doco's but got stuck.

The Meraki collection I imported and environment (variables I have set) didn't work for me, all GET requests I made that way, ended with error 404.

However, if I manipulated the headers and the region server, no authorization

, the old way (tutorials 2 years old) that seemed to work and I got the orgs, networks etc.

I'm running the latest Postman (v7.12.0), collections I have downloaded few days ago, got variables in the Environment reviewed by my Peer (who used an older Postman version with success) and we still couldn't figure out why I couldn't use it the proper way...

Any hints or suggestions?

Thanks in advance!

collection 1.PNGCollection 2.PNGmanual.png

2 REPLIES 2
BrechtSchamp
Kind of a big deal

I think there was probably something wrong with the way you setup postman. The simplest endpoint to test your postman setup is the getOrganizations one:

https://api.meraki.com/api/v0/organizations

Always start with that one to do your tests.

The only things that that endpoint needs are the API key to be setup correctly, and that postman can reach the cloud (proxies could be blocking it for example).

There's two ways to setup the API key.

1. The first one is by right clicking the collection, clicking Edit. Go to the Variables tab and fill in X-Cisco-Meraki-API-Key with your key.

image.png

The reason this works is because the Authorization tab has a placeholder {{X-Cisco-Meraki-API-Key}} to be filled in with a variable:

image.png