Different Network ID of MQTT message and API networks

MilosJovanovic
New here

Different Network ID of MQTT message and API networks

I'm an external developer for a client. Working on getting data from Meraki MR devices. I have a very basic understanding of Meraki dashboard and apis.

I successfully got data off of meraki api, and I'm triggering .../organizations/:organizationId/networks

to get available networks for the organization (having only one). I'm getting a network with ID L_.....

This is all good, but when I configured MQTT in Wireless->IoT Radio Settings, I'm receiving MQTT messages on topic

meraki/v1/mr/N_...../... and in the payload network id is N_......

As the app we're making needs the client to pick a network that we're going to listen MQTT messages for, how do I get that N_... network id via api? I'm only gettting L_...

If I call some other endpoints with networkId of N_... they still work and provide data, but I see no way to know the N_... network id before receiving some mqtt message.

Anything I'm missing? Do I need to somehow map the N_... network id to L_... network id in our part of software? If so - where in GUI can client procure this network id?

4 Replies 4
sungod
Head in the Cloud

The N_/L_ prefix depends on the network type, see this page:

https://developer.cisco.com/meraki/build/deep-links/

But if I look at the source of a Dashboard page showing, say, an MR device in a combined network, then search for Mkiconf.locale_id and Mkiconf.ng_id, these are the L_ and N_ identifiers respectively, it appears both can exist for the same network, which looks like what you are experiencing....

Example (actual values altered):

Mkiconf.locale_id = "602919401234567890";
Mkiconf.ng_id = "602919400987654321";

Why both? I have no idea!