API for MX live uplink traffic

Solved
RichardChen1
Getting noticed

API for MX live uplink traffic

I'm new to API, recently finished the Devnet Meraki Express course.

I have been searching for the Dashboard API for live uplink traffic.

My idea is to fetch the data every 5 mins and convert to a flow chart in xls or google sheet. (Similar to Cisco IOS SNMP poll with Solarwinds or other monitoring tool)

I can't find anything on API guide

https://developer.cisco.com/meraki/api/#/rest/getting-started

I did find API for latency and loss....

Can anyone point me to the right direction?

1 Accepted Solution
jdsilva
Kind of a big deal

Hey @RichardChen1,

Personally, I prefer this reference for API info: https://api.meraki.com/api_docs

But use whichever you prefer. Just providing options 🙂

As far as I'm aware there isn't an API endpoint to pull the live traffic data. I don't think you will be able to do what you are asking. Sorry. 

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6
jdsilva
Kind of a big deal

Hey @RichardChen1,

Personally, I prefer this reference for API info: https://api.meraki.com/api_docs

But use whichever you prefer. Just providing options 🙂

As far as I'm aware there isn't an API endpoint to pull the live traffic data. I don't think you will be able to do what you are asking. Sorry. 

CptnCrnch
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Rather than using the API, you could leverage Netflow. Something that‘s designed for this kind of task. 😉

Hi @CptnCrnch ,

Could you please elaborate a bit more on netflow with live network traffic data?

Sure: Netflow is being used on networking equipment to showtraffic going over it.

It's a combined architecture with three components:

• Flow exporter: aggregates packets into flows and exports flow records towards one or more flow collectors.
  • Flow collector: responsible for reception, storage and pre-processing of flow data received from a flow exporter.