Automation

gonzague
Comes here often

Automation

Hello, i have a few questions today (pls remember i am a newbie on Meraki, so pls make your answer easy to understand). I recently setup Postman to do my own extractions because the files proposed by the web site are somewhat limited.

So now i want to extrat the list of all equipment we are supervising using the command GET /networks/[networkId]/devices

1/ Can i create a batch of such requests to automate the process ? If so, how ?

2/ Can i direct the result of a command to a file ? If so, how ? Can i then select the output format, for example tabular ?

3/ Can i build a more intelligent script, one that will find the list of all network ids first, then enter the get devices command for all networks ?

thanks in advance for your answers ! Gp

16 REPLIES 16
HodyCrouch
Building a reputation

Yes, you can automate Meraki's API calls to get the information you need.  You'll just need a little code to get the job done.  There are many ways and many tools you could use.  This example uses Node.js.  If you're not familiar with using Node, you may need a little help getting started.

I assume you already have a valid API Key.  You will need to install the async and request packages using npm.

You can get a list of organizations that you can access pretty easily.  If you don't want to do it manually (Postman is fine), you can use a bit of Node.js code:

var request = require('request');
var credentials=require('./credentials');  // Includes credentials.API_KEY

const options = {
    url: 'https://dashboard.meraki.com/api/v0/organizations',
    headers: { 
      "X-Cisco-Meraki-API-Key":credentials.API_KEY,
      "Content-Type": 'application/json'
    },
};

request.get(options, function(error, response, body) {
  if (error) console.error(error);
  else {
    var orgList = JSON.parse(body);
    orgList.forEach(function(item) {
      console.log(item.id, item.name);
    });
  }
});